Sacral Spine Injury Lawyers

Sacral Spine Injury Lawyers

Suffering an injury of any kind in an auto accident, slip and fall or workplace accident can set your life back months if not years. In some accident cases the victim never fully recovers and the rest of their life they have to deal with pain, suffering and a diminished quality of life not to mention endless medical issues and the financial burden associated with the injuries. An extremely serious type of injury is a sacral spine, or S-Spine, injury. The personal injury attorneys on our team firmly believe that liable parties, those whose reckless actions caused the S-Spine injury, should be held accountable both legally and financially. If you have been the victim of any type of accident and you have sustained an injury, no matter how minor it seems, you need the assistance of an experienced personal injury attorney handling sacral spine injury cases.

The experienced New York personal injury lawyers have found the most common causes of sacral spinal injuries are slip and falls, assault, auto accidents, sports injuries and high distance fall such as in a ladder or scaffolding accident. Call our team of injury attorneys now for a free consultation. They charge no fee if they do not win for you. In addition, they handle serious injury cases from all over the United States including Miami, Los Angeles, San Diego, San Francisco, Detroit, Baltimore, Washington D.C. Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Charlotte, New Orleans, Chicago, Nashville, Little Rock, Boston and Memphis.

The sacral spine, also referred to as the sacrum, is the irregular triangular-shaped bone consisting of five fused vertebrae, which sits below the lumbar region of the spinal column. A wedge-shaped intervertebral disc, known as the lumbo-sacral disc, is situated between the last lumbar vertebra and the sacrum. The sacrum is wedged between the pelvic bones and held in place by the sacroiliac joints. A sacral canal traverses the center of the sacrum continuing the vertebral canal. The functional spinal cord terminates at the first sacral vertebra, but the filum terminale, the end of the spinal cord, continues to the first coccygeal vertebra. On each side of the sacrum there are four openings, which the spinal nerves and blood vessels exit through. The sacrum is a solid, sturdy injury-resistant structure. Severe trauma can induce lumbo-sacral fracture, sacral fracture, disruption of the sacroiliac joints or spinal cord damage. If you are suffering from a sacral spinal injury, contact our experienced group of New Jersey personal injury lawyers to discuss your legal options.

Sacral Spine Anatomy & Physiology

The location where the lumbar spine and the sacral spine meet is known as the lumbo-sacral junction. Due to the enormous amount of stress and twisting placed on this junction, spinal injury is very common. There are two classifications of lumbo-sacral spinal fracture: mechanism of injury and degree of instability. The greatly experienced accident attorneys on our team have found several categories associated with lumb-osacral spinal fracture, including flexion-rotation injury, compression fracture, transverse process fracture, burst fracture and pathologic fracture. The different categories of lumb-osacral spinal fracture are classified as stable or unstable. Abnormal movement of the fracture location indicates an unstable lumbo-sacral spinal fracture and may exhibit neurologic injury. None to minimal abnormal movement of the fracture location indicates a stable lumbo-sacral spinal fracture exhibiting little to no neurologic injury. Lumbo-sacral spinal fracture may induce temporary or permanent disability.

Symptoms Of Sacral Spine Injury

A serious fall, car accident, trucking accident or motorcycle accident can fracture the sacrum or cause disruption of sacroiliac joints. Both types of sacral spinal injury elicit severe pain down the leg through the knee to the ankle and foot. Most times these types of sacral spinal injury are undiagnosed due to the symptoms coinciding with those of a herniated disc.

Lower back pain is among the most common symptoms of sacral spinal injury, along with:

  • Edema (swelling)
  • Tingling
  • Bruising
  • Numbness
  • Lower extremity pain
  • Lower extremity paralysis
  • Loss of bowel and bladder function

The skilled San Diego personal injury lawyers on our team know that several diagnostic tests, such as magnetic resonance imaging (MRI scans), bone scan, computerized tomography (CT scans) and physical examination, are employed to assess the degree of sacral spinal injury. Our team of Las Vegas, Nevada accident attorneys also know that treatment of sacral spinal injury is dependent upon the presence of neurologic deficiency and degree of instability. Stable sacral spinal injury typically relies on non-operative treatment, as in bed rest, custom brace or limited activity. Unstable sacral spinal injury may require surgical intervention to stabilize the spinal column and decompress the spinal cord. Recovery depends upon the type of sacral spinal injury and the treatment process. Per our Newark, Delaware injury attorneys rehabilitation therapy often consists of heat and cold to inhibit muscle discomfort and pain, trunk stabilization, supervised physical therapy and home exercises.

Sacral spinal injury can reduce your range of motion or lead to paralysis. Significant treatment and recovery can lead to substantial medical bills, loss of quality of life and loss of wages. Contacting our Des Moines, Iowa personal injury lawyers may be essential in the successful pursuit of your sacral spinal injury claim.

If you, or someone you care for, is suffering from a spinal cord injury of any type, contact our New York personal injury attorneys as they offer free initial case evaluations. They charge no fee unless they recover for you and your family.

AlabamaAlaskaAlaskaArkansasArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareFlorida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wisconsin.